The Bread and the Cup

The bread and the cup, the body and the blood

Last night I went to the Good Friday service at our church. I probably wouldn’t have gone if one of my responsibilities as a newly appointed elder wasn’t to serve communion at the service. I would likely have stayed home with my wife and sleeping daughter. 🙂

I’ve served communion in different settings before so I wasn’t really thinking too much about it. The service itself was enjoyable – a little more forward-looking than I’m used to from a Good Friday service, but refreshingly so. Anyway, we observed communion differently last night than we usually do. Normally we pass silver trays filled with bits of bread or little cups of grape juice down each row until everyone has the element and then we partake together. Last night, we had two elders at the head of each isle – one with a loaf of bread and one with a cup of juice – and had people come up individually and take the bread and dip it into the juice and then eat. (As an aside, I learned a few weeks ago that the technical term for this method is intinction, which means “to dip into” in Latin.)

As I served the cup to people, I was to say, “The blood of Christ, shed for you” to each person as they partook. The sanctuary holds roughly 320 people, so I knew I was in for saying that phrase roughly 150 times. About ten people in, I realized that I didn’t want to just repeat the words like a mantra so I started to make a point of looking at each person as they came up. As I spoke the words to each person, I started to have a sense that what I was offering them in the cup and the words that went with it was very personal.

Then, a couple of minutes later, people I knew started coming through the line. As I looked them in the eye and spoke of what Christ had done for each of them, I was nearly overwhelmed. I could barely hold back tears. It hit me in a fresh way that Christ’s sacrifice wasn’t only for a group of people (those who call themselves His followers though faith) but for individual people, for my friends, and consequently for me. Eventually, I noticed that people were responding to my looking at them as I spoke. Some paused and waited for me to finish before they dipped their bread. Others actually spoke back saying things like, “thank you,” – some even using my name. Still others stood in silence as I spoke but I could tell that they were experiencing some internal emotion as well. It was very moving.

I don’t think I’ve ever had a communion experience that was that personal or intimate. I realized at one point what an honor it was to offer such good news to people. I could have stood there all night saying the same glorious words over and over. I was actually a little disappointed when it was over. I know that not all communion experiences will be like that, but it was really refreshing to connect anew with the wonder of what Jesus did on the cross for me, for my friends and, if you embrace Him by faith, for you too.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by will on April 3, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    beautiful. that’s all.

    Reply

  2. That’s it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

